Tech Support > Microsoft Windows > Basics > Re: M'I`5'Pe rsecution ' th e BBC, televis ion an d rad io
Re: M'I`5'Pe rsecution ' th e BBC, televis ion an d rad io
Posted by Justin Thyme on January 1st, 2008


Man! This guy is nothing if not persistent. I wonder if I can screen him
out by killing "lycos.com"?

Ken Bland

<Remainder snipped>

<mvemfiefi@lycos.com> wrote in message news:fo0800010845250336@4ax.com...


Posted by Peter on January 1st, 2008


See my signature...all for the same poster, got fed up with putting
individual names in my ever lengthening killfile rule.

--
Peter
Toronto, Canada
XP Pro SP3 Beta/Vista Ultimate SP1 Beta
Anyone using yahoo.com,
bigfoot.com or lycos.com
as their posted address
will have their posts obliterated
due to newsgroup spam.
"Justin Thyme" <k.r.blmb@mindspring.com> wrote in message
news:OvinEKLTIHA.1212@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...

Posted by LVTravel on January 1st, 2008


No since his from line is not true. He is using a service www.altopia.com
which doesn't care that the jerk is doing what he is doing. He has used
gmail, hotmail, and many other from addresses which are all false.

Just delete them and you won't have to see them again, until he sends more.


Posted by Rick on January 2nd, 2008


Justin Thyme wrote:
bone head. Probably some young kid--acts like a 13 year old.

Rick

Posted by Gordon on January 2nd, 2008


Justin Thyme wrote:

Just set up a rule to filter on Message ID contains "@4ax.com"

Posted by Gordon on January 2nd, 2008


LVTravel wrote:

All his posts contain "@4ax.com" in the message ID, no matter what posting
host he uses. Filter on that.

Posted by Daave on January 2nd, 2008


Gordon wrote:
Won't that just filter posts of those using Forte Agent?



Posted by Gordon on January 3rd, 2008


"Daave" <dcwashNOSPAM@myrealboxXYZ.invalid> wrote in message
news:%23ysbGEaTIHA.4696@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...

Why would it? Forte Agent is a news reader, not a posting host....the
message ID of the post you replied to doesn't contain any reference to which
news reader I posted it with....



Posted by Daave on January 3rd, 2008


Gordon wrote:

(from the help file)

;Agent can generate three different formats:

;<md5>@4AX.COM

;<md5> is a globally-unique string, generated from random state on
;your PC and encoded using the MD5 algorithm. 4AX.COM is a domain
;name owned by Forte for exclusive use by Agent for the purpose of
;generating message-ids.
;This is the format recommended by Forte.

;<md5>@<server>

;<md5> is the same globally-unique string described above.
;<server> is the name of the nntp or smtp server to which the
;message is being posted. This format is available for users who
;prefer to have message-ids contain the name of the posting server
;rather than the Forte-owned 4AX.COM domain name.

;<date.tic>@<server>

;<date.tic> is a number generating by combining the current date
;and time and the Windows tick count. <server> is the name of the
;nntp or smtp server to which the message is being posted.
;This is the format used by previous versions of Agent. Forte
;recommends that this format no longer be used, since it is more
;likely to genereate non-unique ids.

;The following tables shows how the combination of GenerateId and
;<x>IdFormat control the message-idformat:

;In previous versions, GenerateId could have a value of 0 (false)
;or 1 (true). If an old copy of AGENT.INI has one
;of these two values, Agent ignores the new <x>IDFormat parameters,
;and generates Ids using the format specified in the first table

;below. As of version 1.6, the default value is 2, which tells
;Agent to use the new <x>IDFormat parameters instead,
;specified in the second table.


;GenerateId Format
;---------- ------
;0 Do not generate Ids
;1 Generate <md5>@4AX.COM
;2 Use the <x>IDFormat parameters

;<x>IDFormat Format (when GenerateId=2)
------------ --------------------------
;0 <md5>@4AX.COM
;1 <md5>@<server>
;2 Do not generate Ids
;3 <date.tic>@<server>



http://groups.google.com/group/alt.u...c?dmode=source



So it won't fiilter *all* Agent posts, but it will filter a good number
of them!



Posted by mikeyhsd on January 3rd, 2008


in case you are interested.

from another group post

------------------------------------------------------

A link on this page:
http://groups.google.gy/group/alt.su...a9379448d04a2c

leads to: http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/alabaster/A164404

and a link on that page leads to:

http://www.five.org.uk/

http://www.jlaforums.com/viewtopic.php?p=11438351

<q>
The MI5 poster:
His name is Mike Corley, he is an IT professional but alas he has
mental health issues. Here are some details about Mike Corley.
He lives in London, UK. He first began his postings to usenet, BBS,
and forums in 1995, unsurprisingly first to alt.conspiracy.

He has his own website:
http://www.five.org.uk/

"There have been numerous newspaper articles and online thesis
about Mike's postings, this is a BBC article on the subject:"
http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/....er/A164404

"And amongst many other covers of the Mike Corley phenomenon
there has been a modern opera about this usenet legend:"
http://www.thecorleyconspiracy.com/
</q>


mikeyhsd@sprintpcs.com



"Gordon" <gbplinux@gmail.com.invalid> wrote in message news:u1YauZeTIHA.1168@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
"Daave" <dcwashNOSPAM@myrealboxXYZ.invalid> wrote in message
news:%23ysbGEaTIHA.4696@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...

Why would it? Forte Agent is a news reader, not a posting host....the
message ID of the post you replied to doesn't contain any reference to which
news reader I posted it with....