In article <t4-dnSdC8eYcpQvcRVn-vg@mersinet.co.uk>,
"John Anderson"j89anderson@hotmail.com wrote:
Hmmm... "Golly gee" type announcement of yet another microsoft fiasco,
with NO reference to a credible source, separately posted to (at least)
alt.security, alt.os.security, and alt.computer.security.
Invitation to an unknown site - again, NO information, but promise of
some magic "fix".
[compton ~]$ host www.cebrasoft.com
www.cebrasoft.com is a nickname for iis1.linix.net
iis1.linix.net has address 217.14.176.202
[compton ~]$
[compton ~]$ host 217.14.181.80
80.181.14.217.IN-ADDR.ARPA domain name pointer 217-14-181-80.as2582.net
[compton ~]$ host 217-14-181-80.as2582.net
Host not found.
[compton ~]$ domain.check as2582.net
No match for "AS2582.NET"
[compton ~]$ domain.check -as 217.14.181.80
route: 217.14.176.0/20
descr: Linix
origin: AS25582
source: RIPE
[compton ~]$
I'd trust microsoft before I'd trust a spammer hyping his own site with a
hotmail address, from a host with a false name.
KIDS! THIS IS HOW YOU GET VIRUSES / TROJANS / SPYWARE INSTALLED ON YOUR
SYSTEMS. It's also how your email address may get added to some spam list.
Sorry, mister spammer - I've got better things to do. You may want to
talk to the incompetent klowns at mersinet.co.uk, and tell them that they
fucked up the DNS record - it's as25582.net, not as2582.net - but neither
agree with the RIPE address assignments, so that pretty well identifies
them as blackhats or fools - you figure which. Not that it really matters,
as neither should be allowed to connect to anyone's computer, much less
install this magic fix.