- Better than Kazaa?
- Posted by SR on October 26th, 2003
I received the following email
http://www.247downloads.com/promo4/access.php
and wonder whether this is true. According to this enterprise, the number of
online users is very close to 14,000,000. That's 4 to 5 times that of
Kazaa...
If this is true, it might be well worth to join this 1.99$/month goodie.
Has anybody experience with it?
SR
__________________________________________________ _____________________________
Posted Via Uncensored-News.Com - Accounts Starting At $6.95 - http://www.uncensored-news.com
<><><><><><><> The Worlds Uncensored News Source <><><><><><><><>
- Posted by Martin Delisle on October 26th, 2003
Is it a software you can download or directly from IE?
"SR" <srindler@da2.so-net.ne.jp> wrote in message
news:3f9b5b01$1_1@cosmos.uncensored-news.com...
___
- Posted by Richard on October 26th, 2003
SR wrote:
If i can't take a test drive before signing up, screw 'em.
- Posted by Ralph Mann on October 26th, 2003
SR said:
Sod off spammer.
- Posted by hugh jass on October 26th, 2003
it's bullshit.
keep refreshing the no. of users online and you'll notice that it's the same
numbers repeating themselves. If that part is a gimmick, I'm sure the rest
is too.
--
______________________
please remove the obvious from my email...
"SR" <srindler@da2.so-net.ne.jp> wrote in message
news:3f9b5b01$1_1@cosmos.uncensored-news.com...
: I received the following email
:
: http://www.247downloads.com/promo4/access.php
:
: and wonder whether this is true. According to this enterprise, the number
of
: online users is very close to 14,000,000. That's 4 to 5 times that of
: Kazaa...
: If this is true, it might be well worth to join this 1.99$/month goodie.
: Has anybody experience with it?
:
: SR
:
:
:
:
__________________________________________________ __________________________
___
: Posted Via Uncensored-News.Com - Accounts Starting At $6.95 -
http://www.uncensored-news.com
: <><><><><><><> The Worlds Uncensored News Source
<><><><><><><><>
:
- Posted by mhicaoidh on October 26th, 2003
Taking a moment's reflection, SR mused:
|
| and wonder whether this is true. According to this enterprise, the number
| of online users is very close to 14,000,000. That's 4 to 5 times that of
| Kazaa...
That much more widely used than Kazaa, and you're just now hearing about
it? Think about it.
- Posted by trout on October 26th, 2003
SR wrote:
It is spamware, it is spyware, it is adware. Avoid like the plague.
Extracted from the 'Privacy Policy':
(http://www.247downloads.com/privacy.php)
"24/7 Downloads currently uses cookie technology to associate
certain Internet-related information about an individual with
information about the individual in our database. Additionally, 24/7
Downloads may use other new and evolving sources of information in the
future"
"A web bug is programming code that can be used to display an image
on a web page, but can also be used to transfer an individual's unique
user identification to a database and associate the individual with
previously acquired information about an individual in a database. This
allows 24/7 Downloads to track certain web sites an individual visits
online. Web beacons are used to determine products or services an
individual may be interested in, and to track online behavioral habits
for marketing purposes. In addition to using web beacons on web pages,
24/7 Downloads also uses web beacons in email messages sent to
individuals listed in 24/7 Downloads' database."
"24/7 Downloads may sell or transfer individual information to third
parties for any purpose in the company's sole discretion. By registering
to purchase one of our products or services, you agree that 24/7
Downloads may decide to contact you with product updates, or any other
information that we deem relevant for you to receive."
--
"Fuck them."
- Posted by SR on October 27th, 2003
Well, it's hard to get an innocent question across since there are always a
few cranky ones who are still at large.
If I was a spammer, why would I ask about other users opinions? I was
smelling a rat, and anybody else has has verified that by now.
And now you may beat it yourself....
__________________________________________________ _____________________________
Posted Via Uncensored-News.Com - Accounts Starting At $6.95 - http://www.uncensored-news.com
<><><><><><><> The Worlds Uncensored News Source <><><><><><><><>
- Posted by SR on October 27th, 2003
"-= Hawk =-" <hawk@Spam-Me-Not.cfl.rr.com> wrote in message
news:c6lppvg37hb06k4kkitf2ege1f21rfmk0n@news-server...
No, not at all... but how does one ask a question without being regarded a
spammer? Anybody who reads the thread would be out of mind to spend a single
dime on these scam artists. If I was really behind this enterprise, I would
have bragged about my success with numerous fast and successful downloads,
something I could not achieve with Kazaa and other P2P software packages...
Besides, there was only one person accusing me, while eight others provided
useful comments.
SR
__________________________________________________ _____________________________
Posted Via Uncensored-News.Com - Accounts Starting At $6.95 - http://www.uncensored-news.com
<><><><><><><> The Worlds Uncensored News Source <><><><><><><><>
- Posted by Mara on October 27th, 2003
On 27 Oct 2003 11:49:21 GMT, SR wrote:
<snip>
RM is somewhat factually-challenged in this area, and whether you are new or not
has no bearing whatsoever on whether your post was spam or not. It wasn't.
"Don't worry about it."
--
* shodan eyes TMP's index.cgi::displayTaskTable() warily
* shodan eyes Interface.pm
* shodan makes "go together" motions with his hands, to no avail.
- Posted by SgtMinor on October 27th, 2003
Looks like a reputable outfit:
Registrant:
hesham eldabah
69 managem el mahager st
lebanon square
cairo, GZ 12411
Egypt
Registered through: GoDaddy.com
Domain Name: 247DOWNLOAD.COM
Created on: 06-Jul-03
Expires on: 06-Jul-04
Last Updated on: 23-Sep-03
--
"I get all my mp3's from the Middle East"
SR wrote:
- Posted by Mara on October 27th, 2003
On Mon, 27 Oct 2003 10:11:39 -0500, SgtMinor wrote:
One thing I forgot to mention - if this was a spam, it should be reported to
GoDaddy.
<snip>
--
* shodan eyes TMP's index.cgi::displayTaskTable() warily
* shodan eyes Interface.pm
* shodan makes "go together" motions with his hands, to no avail.
- Posted by John H. Guillory on October 27th, 2003
I've been using a program that seems pretty good. Granted, it's
basically Kaaza.... Shareaza.... The main difference between it and
Kaaza is no fees, and it connects to GNUtella (Morpheus) and Edonkey
file servers.... It also has a BitTorentCoupling Network or something
for the protocol, but I like it for the fact that you can connect to
more networks than your basic Kaaza light, as far as I know of....
- Posted by SR on October 28th, 2003
Aaaahhh... this sounds familiar! I have come across these lines myself
before. I'll use a more careful style next time, but so can a real spammers.
SR
__________________________________________________ _____________________________
Posted Via Uncensored-News.Com - Accounts Starting At $6.95 - http://www.uncensored-news.com
<><><><><><><> The Worlds Uncensored News Source <><><><><><><><>
- Posted by The Game on November 5th, 2003
To all who are curious...I have 'acquired' a login to this site, so I
could see what it was about.
here's the specifics if you want to look for yourself:
Username: revelated@centralpets.com
Password: mp3qhx1821
Basically...it's illegal. HIGHLY illegal. It's a program that sniffs
out IPs through ranges, and then illegally backdoor accesses people's
computers who unknowingly have File Sharing enabled, thus essentially
stealing files from other people's computers. Of course, if the other
person has a firewall and sees your intrusion attempt, they can report
you to your ISP...and backdoor intrusion *IS* against the law. Sure,
it does allow almost limitless possibilities...but it's not reputable
at all. It'll ask you to download a .msi file...dangerous in itself,
considering that could destroy your computer if ran...but beyond that,
using it is against your TOS of your ISP. If you dare, go right
ahead. I haven't and won't run it, but it even tells you in the
instructions of its illegal activites, and preys on the ignorant who
don't know exactly what's happening.
- Posted by Kráftéé on November 5th, 2003
The Game wrote:
Perhaps a good enough reason to use Kazaa Lite (or even K-Lite) where
it's been removed.
As for the rest of your argument, maybe you aught to open your eyes
about what is really happening in your PC, if you agree to install
software without checking it out (many people do) then you/they
deserve whatever happens should treat the results as a learning
experience when it all comes apart around their ears.
--
B-)
Don't practice safe hex,
do it!!!