- DOMAIN NAMES
- Posted by phil on January 7th, 2006
a domain name i am interested in runs out of contract very soon and i am
interested in buying it. how do i go about this if the registered owner does
not renew there contract on it ?
--
Phil
- Posted by Toolman Tim on January 7th, 2006
In news:43c04204$1_2@mk-nntp-2.news.uk.tiscali.com,
phil" <philbradley000"oh spewed forth:
Many name registrars have the ability to snatch them up if you're
interested - I use www.registerfly.com (no affiliation) and they have (had?)
a program called NameZap that will attempt to do that. Others do as well -
check this:
http://www.igoldrush.com/expired3.htm
And search Google.com for "domain name grabbing" for more.
--
All that glitters has a high refractive index.
- Posted by Mike Easter on January 7th, 2006
phil" <philbradley000"oh wrote:
What makes you think the registrant is going to let it expire? If s/he
isn't, there's no use in getting interested in it, unless you are
planning on buying it from the current registrant. If s/he does let it
expire, it is yours for the taking and registering.
Domain napping and domain hijacking are a completely different business
or behavior than registering an /available/ domainname.
Why don't you just find a domainname which is currently available and
which you like?
--
Mike Easter
- Posted by Toolman Tim on January 7th, 2006
In news:43c04dcf$0$21691$892e7fe2@authen.yellow.readf reenews.net,
Mike Easter spewed forth:
True - I don't like the hijacking idea. But if the current registrant allows
it to expire, go for it. My company sells a particular product. It has a
name registered as a trademark. Some other company used that name for their
web site. We simply chose the next-best domain name. We aren't gonna fight
those people, or are we gonna try and hijack the name. If they let it expire
though, we want to be first on the list to grab it.
--
All that glitters has a high refractive index.
- Posted by Mike Easter on January 7th, 2006
Toolman Tim wrote:
Yes. I don't consider your suggestions about quickly grabbing an
available name to be 'napping' or hijacking'
I couldn't find a description of namezap [actually namezap auto
register] at registerfly - I found a link^1 in the source on a page but
no description.
Yes.
^1 NameZap name Grabbing http://www.registerfly.com/info/benefits.php
[source NameZap Auto-Register]
addendum -- nevermind - I found it. I had to loosen up my browser
security on the other page http://www.registerfly.com/namezap/
That also mentions backorder services.
--
Mike Easter
- Posted by phil on January 7th, 2006
there are lots of domain names i like, but i want the .com version if i can.
i have checked the "whois" database and they say it expires on a certain
date. Therefore i feel that i am not "hijacking" !!! a certain name from
someone, merely using my initiative as the person who owns it has not!
is this wrong?
surely if this person has neglected there obligation to there .com
description it is there fault, and not an internet crime ?
"Mike Easter" <MikeE@ster.invalid> wrote in message
news:43c056dd$0$73887$892e7fe2@authen.yellow.readf reenews.net...
- Posted by phil on January 7th, 2006
there are lots of domain names i like, but i want the .com version if i can.
i have checked the "whois" database and they say it expires on a certain
date. Therefore i feel that i am not "hijacking" !!! a certain name from
someone, merely using my initiative as the person who owns it has not!
is this wrong?
surely if this person has neglected there obligation to there .com
description it is there fault, and not an internet crime ?
"Mike Easter" <MikeE@ster.invalid> wrote in message
news:43c056dd$0$73887$892e7fe2@authen.yellow.readf reenews.net...
- Posted by Toolman Tim on January 7th, 2006
In news:43c056dd$0$73887$892e7fe2@authen.yellow.readf reenews.net,
Mike Easter spewed forth:
Yeah - sorry - it was the BACKORDER service that I was thinking about.
"Dropfly" is the grabber.
http://registerfly.com/dropfly/
--
All that glitters has a high refractive index.
- Posted by phil on January 7th, 2006
sorry for the double post!!!
"phil" <philbradley000"oh"7@tiscali.co.uk> wrote in message
news:43c05ccc$1_1@mk-nntp-2.news.uk.tiscali.com...
- Posted by Toolman Tim on January 7th, 2006
In news:43c05c74$1_3@mk-nntp-2.news.uk.tiscali.com,
phil" <philbradley000"oh spewed forth:
Quite correct. If the registration lapses, go for it.
--
All that glitters has a high refractive index.
- Posted by phil on January 7th, 2006
the whois web site is accurate isn't it ?
"Toolman Tim" <frack.this@no.spam.invalid> wrote in message
news:e4Zvf.136$vc3.69@fe03.lga...
- Posted by Toolman Tim on January 7th, 2006
In news:43c05efd$1_2@mk-nntp-2.news.uk.tiscali.com,
phil" <philbradley000"oh spewed forth:
Should be, AFAIK.
--
All that glitters has a high refractive index.
- Posted by phil on January 8th, 2006
whois say's this....
Record updated on 05-Oct-2005
Record expires on 08-Jan-2006
Record created on 09-Jan-1997
does this mean that on 8th of Jan 2006, this site is free to be taken?
"Toolman Tim" <frack.this@no.spam.invalid> wrote in message
news:GtZvf.146$vc3.6@fe03.lga...
- Posted by Kadaitcha Man on January 8th, 2006
Mike Easter <MikeE@ster.invalid>, the farting deadbeat and toothless
ducky who likes harsh anal shagging with alligators, and whose partner
is an overnight-bag with a satiny poosazi, wrote in
<43c04dcf$0$21691$892e7fe2@authen.yellow.readfreen ews.net>:
You complete fucking fool.
- Posted by Toolman Tim on January 8th, 2006
In news:43c067b8$1_3@mk-nntp-2.news.uk.tiscali.com,
phil" <philbradley000"oh spewed forth:
will be available on the 9th. Not likely though, since they've kept it
current since 1997.
My domain registrar automatically renews my domains 15 to 30 days BEFORE
it's expiration date, so they never become available. I expect most people
sign up for that service with their registrar.
--
All that glitters has a high refractive index.
- Posted by phil on January 8th, 2006
some tosspot wrote.....
the f*!k up.........
call it my opinion if u want, but hey !!!
- Posted by Toolman Tim on January 8th, 2006
In news:43c06a6e$1_1@mk-nntp-2.news.uk.tiscali.com,
phil" <philbradley000"oh spewed forth:
You are replying to a troll. In your news reader, block the sender so you
don't see their junk. And also look at the list of groups this was posted
to - Kadaitcha Man cross-posted to alt.usenet.kooks, and when you replied,
it went there as well. You've now posted with the kooks.
--
All that glitters has a high refractive index.
- Posted by phil on January 8th, 2006
who are "the kooks"
"Toolman Tim" <frack.this@no.spam.invalid> wrote in message
news:bWZvf.154$vc3.68@fe03.lga...
- Posted by Toolman Tim on January 8th, 2006
Kooks. Usenet nutcases. Drop by their own private little world and see for
yourself <g>
In news:43c1614b$1_2@mk-nntp-2.news.uk.tiscali.com,
phil" <philbradley000"oh spewed forth:
--
All that glitters has a high refractive index.
- Posted by Plato on January 8th, 2006
phil wrote:
http://www.networksolutions.com/en_US/whois/index.jhtml
Lets you make a certified offer for it.
--
http://www.bootdisk.com/