Tech Support > Computers & Technology > E mails from NTL
E mails from NTL
Posted by john on August 3rd, 2003


Any one aware of ant dodgy e mails from NTL? I keep getting mail from them
saying my e mail is about to expire, and I have to open an attachment to
read about it.


Posted by Steven Pilbeam on August 3rd, 2003



"john" <borojohn@ntlworld.com> wrote in message
news:mOcXa.102$8N5.20@newsfep3-gui.server.ntli.net...
virus

Usually has the following message

Hello there,
I would like to inform you about important
information regarding your email address. This email address will be
expiring.
Please read attachment for details.
---
Best regards, Administrator



Posted by °Mike° on August 3rd, 2003


Do NOT open those emails. It is the new W32/Mimail Virus.
You Outlook Express is out of date and should be updated
immediately to help protect yourself from this virus, and
other exploits. You should install the OE cumulative update:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/...94/default.asp

And the latest critical updates:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/...29/default.asp
http://www.microsoft.com/security/se...s/ms03-023.asp


On Sun, 3 Aug 2003 19:50:27 +0100, in
<mOcXa.102$8N5.20@newsfep3-gui.server.ntli.net>
john scrawled:

--
Basic computer maintenance
http://uk.geocities.com/personel44/maintenance.html

Posted by Paul - xxx on August 3rd, 2003


john tried to scribble ...

Don't open the attachments, they contain a virus .. not a good thing really
...

They're _not_ from NTL

Send (forward) them to abuse@ntlworld.com with a short note explaining why,
and let them figure out where they come from ..


--
.............................Paul - xxx
http://www.tvlicensing.biz/
Seti 1834 wu in 13977 hours
http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu



Posted by °Mike° on August 3rd, 2003


I should also have said to keep your antivirus scanner up to date.


On Sun, 3 Aug 2003 19:50:27 +0100, in
<mOcXa.102$8N5.20@newsfep3-gui.server.ntli.net>
john scrawled:

--
Basic computer maintenance
http://uk.geocities.com/personel44/maintenance.html

Posted by trout on August 4th, 2003


Paul - xxx wrote:

There must be a lot of them around. I noticed that NTL are even
including the warning in their auto-ack for abuse reports.
--
"Vandalism knows no holidays."



Posted by Paul - xxx on August 4th, 2003


trout tried to scribble ...

There was a spate when some spammers and virus propagators realised that
many people in specific areas that had been 'taken over' by Diamond Cable or
TeleWest or whoever (Now blanketed under the ntlworld banner) potentially
had their first and last name with a suffix of @ntlworld as their email
address. It was a simple process to use the local electoral role and mail
merge a complete address book that virtually guaranteed many, many hits. In
fact I've seen it said that this manner of mass emailing was so productive
that there were around 18% hits. On a small (or large) address book that
equates to a _LOT_ of hits, especially when even decent email address cd's
only suggest around 0.6 % hits are verifiable ..

It all happened because ntl decided that their customers main or default
email addresses were all firstname.lastname@ntlworld ... spammers heaven ..


Same with bigfoot.com .. a great email forwarding service and idea, but then
they also publish the names of everyone who subscribes to it. So Bigfoot,
far from being the great email service that it was, is also now a spam
heaven ..

I hate spam, with a vengeance ..

--
.............................Paul - xxx
http://www.tvlicensing.biz/
Seti 1834 wu in 13977 hours
http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu




Similar Posts