Tech Support > Computers & Technology > Why is my computer sending emails?
Why is my computer sending emails?
Posted by Fred on January 28th, 2008


I recently received this message for an email I had not sent, yet from
my domain.

Can anyone tell me what this is about?

"Mail Delivery Subsystem <MAILER-DAEMON@unicc.org>

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<malhotrarmalhotra@ohchr.org>
(reason: 550 malhotrarmalhotra@ohchr.org... No such user)

----- Transcript of session follows -----
.... while talking to [192.168.39.16]:
550 5.1.1 <malhotrarmalhotra@ohchr.org>... User
unknown................."

Fred

Posted by Jeff Strickland on January 28th, 2008


When a computer has been enhanced with a virus, it will often send e-mails
that you do not expect.

I suggest you scan for and remove any virual enhancement that might be on
your machine.



"Fred" <frebak@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:782a85a0-9e28-4a6c-ad57-89536d714b79@e23g2000prf.googlegroups.com...

Posted by sandy58 on January 28th, 2008


On Jan 28, 7:33 pm, Fred <fre...@hotmail.com> wrote:
Why is my computer sending emails?
It's looking for ET!!

Posted by JTJersey on January 28th, 2008


On Mon, 28 Jan 2008 11:33:31 -0800, Fred wrote:

It's just telling you that the users address the email was sent to is
invalid. You probably forwarded an email to someone without striping out
all the original headers and this particular address is bad.

--
Registered Linux User #267152


Posted by Jeff Strickland on January 28th, 2008



"JTJersey" <JT3@aplace.com> wrote in message
news:nbtnj.1453$7a7.121@fe06.usenetserver.com...

That's a far rosier outlook than my idea of a virual enhancement.




Posted by JTJersey on January 28th, 2008


On Mon, 28 Jan 2008 23:13:48 +0000, Jeff Strickland wrote:

Well, if he's got unexpected emails going out every five minutes to
everybody in his email book, yeah, he's got problems, but a single
returned failure isn't unusual.
--
Registered Linux User #267152


Posted by Fred on January 28th, 2008


On 28 Jan, 23:13, "Jeff Strickland" <cr...@verizon.net> wrote:
The Original Author Replys
"malhotrarmalho...@ohchr.org... No such user "

The virus check yielded nothing.

I think the computer was writing to the Office for the High Commission
for Human Rights.

Something has upset it or sombody using this computer or memory stick
even, has drafted an email to OHCHR and it was left in the memory
somewhere. Something kicked it into life and it was sent when the
computer was switched on. Or the OHCHR is a front for a spy network
and is reporting on the emails I am sending and something went wrong.
Well those are my theories!

Posted by Mr. Arnold on January 28th, 2008



"Fred" <frebak@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:7d15c745-66ce-4a91-994d-51d15c1b8e10@v67g2000hse.googlegroups.com...
On 28 Jan, 23:13, "Jeff Strickland" <cr...@verizon.net> wrote:
The Original Author Replys
"malhotrarmalho...@ohchr.org... No such user "

The virus check yielded nothing.

I think the computer was writing to the Office for the High Commission
for Human Rights.

Something has upset it or sombody using this computer or memory stick
even, has drafted an email to OHCHR and it was left in the memory
somewhere. Something kicked it into life and it was sent when the
computer was switched on. Or the OHCHR is a front for a spy network
and is reporting on the emails I am sending and something went wrong.
Well those are my theories!

-------

Either your machine is infected (a virus checker can miss it) or someone
has your email address in their Contacts, their machine is infected, it's
sending out emails using your email address, and it's being retuned to you,
when the address is invalid where the email was sent.


Posted by Fred on January 29th, 2008


On 29 Jan, 00:53, "Mr. Arnold" <MR. Arn...@Arnold.com> wrote:
Thankyou - As this was a one off, that must be the explanation.
Fred

Posted by Jeff Strickland on January 29th, 2008



"Fred" <frebak@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:7d15c745-66ce-4a91-994d-51d15c1b8e10@v67g2000hse.googlegroups.com...
On 28 Jan, 23:13, "Jeff Strickland" <cr...@verizon.net> wrote:
The Original Author Replys
"malhotrarmalho...@ohchr.org... No such user "

The virus check yielded nothing.



This supports the idea that you hit the Reply All button and sent a message
to a bad e-mail address. You might have a copy of the original message in
your Sent Items folder.

If a message came to you, and you replied, AND one of the addresses was
incorrect, then you would get a Failure Notification. The notification is
telling you that an address you sent to is invalid. More accurately, a
message left your email account bound for another email account and the
recipient account does not exist as it is entered. My guess is, mthere is no
such account with elipses ( ... ) in the address.






Posted by vanmier on January 30th, 2008


Check the "To" line in the header and see if there is more than one e-mail
address listed. It could be a bot trolling your domain server for active
e-mail accounts.

Vanmier

"Fred" <frebak@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:782a85a0-9e28-4a6c-ad57-89536d714b79@e23g2000prf.googlegroups.com...

Posted by Robert Baer on January 30th, 2008


Fred wrote:
another ploy to get one to respond, and if you do, *WATCH OUT* because
you just opened the floodgates!
Consider them as SPAM; they are forged.


Posted by Fred on January 31st, 2008


On 30 Jan, 02:34, Robert Baer <robertb...@localnet.com> wrote:
Here is the rest of the message. Ironmail is part of secure
computing. http://www.securecomputing.com/

Date: Mon, 28 Jan 2008 17:42:58 +0100
Received: from ([85.140.54.178])
by ironmail1.svc.unicc.org with SMTP id KP-BKA51.165694653;
Mon, 28 Jan 2008 17:42:27 +0100
Content-Return: allowed
X-Mailer: CME-V6.5.4.3; MSN
Received: (qmail 21321 by uid 813); Mon, 28 Jan 2008 07:42:26 +0300
Message-Id: <20080128104226.21323.qmail@ppp85-140-54-178.pppoe.mtu-
net.ru>
To: <malhotrarmalhotra@ohchr.org>
Subject: January 76% OFF
From: <malhotrarmalhotra@ohchr.org>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="ISO-8859-1"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-esp: ESP<308>=
SHA:<18>
UHA:<6>
ISC:<0>
BAYES:<23>
SenderID:<0>
DKIM:<0>
TS:<160>
SIG:<dOIzxSN1Ahhpo0WoWooLZD8P9l3Jgi9dHyVuxmbqhZVd5 SYyo7wYQMTKPxyi
dgttmSLkv4h7iBuwU1wOYyKRmb69DxprXKdwFxRk-LTLajyWgp9om5hTqPzG
elm7yoLtybblT-yPf3CtKcJ3HHtJ5iOr9vDoI92Nr51U2t5oP8-4rHKYdr1n
gaaR6sjvq9FTPURkJnXios2XkAeaB7BEuPXECffNWvZw7vJlA>
TRU_marketing_spam: <1>
TRU_misc_spam: <0>
TRU_urllinks: <0>
TRU_freehosting: <0>
TRU_money_spam: <0>
TRU_profanity_spam: <0>
TRU_adult_spam: <0>
TRU_legal_spam: <0>
TRU_html_image_spam: <0>
TRU_phish_spam: <0>
TRU_watch_spam: <0>
TRU_embedded_image_spam: <0>
TRU_lotto_spam: <0>
TRU_stock_spam: <0>
URL Real-Time Signatures: <100>
TRU_medical_spam: <0>
TRU_scam_spam: <0>
X-ICC-SPAM-FILTER: SUSPECTED SPAM MAIL

Anybody like to explain this?

Fred

Posted by Paul on February 1st, 2008


Fred wrote:

The mail server appears to be equipped with a spam filter. One
of the techniques used, is mentioned here. Undoubtedly many
techniques are needed, to make the spam filter effective,
as the perpetrators probably have copies of that software
they can test themselves. Only constant tuning of such a tool,
keeps it effective.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bayesian_spam_filtering

Just a guess,
Paul

Posted by roadriderob on February 1st, 2008


On Jan 31, 7:18 pm, Paul <nos...@needed.com> wrote:
To the OP (or anyone running Windows) I'd scan for a virus, spyware,
trogen , rootkit etc... if it was a one time thing and you like to
live on the edge ignore it !


Similar Posts