- Buying Finalcut Pro on Ebay...is it risky?
- Posted by wiseguy on March 5th, 2004
Is it safe to buy copies of FInal Cut Pro 3 off ebay? I heard cases
of pirated software, etc.
Is this true? Is purchasing used software a bad idea (ie. scratched
installation disk)?
Cheers
- Posted by Dave Jones on March 5th, 2004
You pays your money and you takes your chances. Nothing is guaranteed.
Check the feedback and look for references. Look at the star ratings if
they have 100's then it's probably safe, if they have less than 10, run like
hell.
--
Dave Jones
Independent Video Productions
www.vdoguy.com
"wiseguy" <curtisj@hipplanet.com> wrote in message
news:e2cf0586.0403050611.6a397fb7@posting.google.c om...
- Posted by Jason Dunn \(DMT\) on March 5th, 2004
There's always a risk, but if you're dealing with reputable vendors, the
risk is minimized. Check their feedback ratings and see if their other
customers have been satisfied, and ALWAYS ask for a photo if they don't have
one in their listing.
Jason Dunn
www.digitalmediathoughts.com
Daily News, Views, Rants & Raves
- Posted by F. Todd Wilson on March 5th, 2004
In article <e2cf0586.0403050611.6a397fb7@posting.google.com>,
curtisj@hipplanet.com (wiseguy) wrote:
Hello,
I recently got FC Express 1.0 plus the 2.0 upgrade via eBay. Seller
was great, and everything was exactly as promised/expected. All works
100%. May not happen to everyone, but I echo others here who say look
at the seller's reputation. So far it's been a good indicator for me.
Todd
- Posted by Martin Heffels on March 6th, 2004
On Sat, 06 Mar 2004 00:25:45 +0100, "F. Todd Wilson"
<fa382483@nospam.skynet.be> wrote:
Yeah, and the newest scam is to first gain trust by building a good
reputation and then start ripping-off people. Those guys know how to
work-around the shortcomings of the system....
cheers
-martin-
--
filmmaker/DP/editor/filmschool techie
Sydney, Australia
"Clothes don't show who you are but who you wanna be"
- Posted by Richard Ragon on March 6th, 2004
wiseguy wrote:
I noticed an awful lot of "kids" selling FCP academic versions.. I
wouldn't recommend buying the Academic version because they have a
different part number, are NOT upgradable, don't sell for any cheaper on
ebay then the Apple store, and are NOT for non students anyway.
Too many people I guess see the 999 price of the regular version and
think they are getting some kind of special deal something.. 
-Richard
- Posted by Bill Fright on March 6th, 2004
It worked fine for me. See the other posts for accurate trading info and
the only thing I'd add is to send an email to the seller to make sure
the disks are original and in good shape. I think it is essential to
have written confirmation on what they are selling. I paid around $400
for fcp3 on ebay about a year ago. Also don't forget to look into three
other great products that I highly recommend. Matrox RTmac is an
excellent I/O device and assists FCP in real time effects. The second
one is Shuttle pro for smooth shuttling and quick keys for editing.
Lastly if you have any rs422 devices (sony betacam ) you'll want a
stealth serial port for your internal modem slot to get time code and
machine control.
my .02
wiseguy wrote:
- Posted by wiseguy on March 7th, 2004
Bill Fright <billfright@austin.rr.com> wrote in message news:<Djm2c.51069$OH4.4880@fe2.texas.rr.com>...
Yeah the seller has no selling history...looks a little shadey I think....