- don't know to ALLOW or block permanently popup from firewall
- Posted by bently on January 22nd, 2006
My firewall gives mea popup that has ...
22.211.255.7, port 46143 wants to send me a UDP datagram to port 1026
owned by Generic Hosp Process for Win 32 Services" on your computer.
Details about application . c:\windows\system32\svhost.exe
I do not know what it is, so I click DENY.
It is persistant and has popped up 7 times so far. I know I can check
"creat appropriate filter and don't ask again", but I don't know if it
is valid and needed or not.
Can anyone tell me what this may be.
Thanks
bently
- Posted by Don Varnau on January 22nd, 2006
Hi,
This is probably an attempt to send messenger spam.
See: http://www.linklogger.com/UDP1026.htm
http://www.lurhq.com/popup_spam.html
http://grc.com/port_1026.htm
I would block that traffic and watch for any problems whch may arise. You
can always undo the block.
Hope this helps,
Don
[MS MVP- IE]
"bently" <ben[at]waol.com> wrote in message
news:O7UpXixHGHA.2668@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
- Posted by DaveH on January 22nd, 2006
"bently" <ben@waol.com> wrote in message
news:O7UpXixHGHA.2668@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
The address is owned by:
OrgName: DoD Network Information Center
OrgID: DNIC
Address: 3990 E. Broad Street
City: Columbus
StateProv: OH
PostalCode: 43218
Country: US
NetRange: 22.0.0.0 - 22.255.255.255
CIDR: 22.0.0.0/8
NetName: DISNET
NetHandle: NET-22-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType: Direct Allocation
Comment: Defense Information Systems Agency
Comment: 7990 Science Applications Court
Comment: Vienna, VA 22183-7000 US
RegDate: 1989-06-26
Updated: 2001-10-11
RTechHandle: MIL-HSTMST-ARIN
RTechName: Network DoD
RTechPhone: +1-800-365-3642
RTechEmail: HOSTMASTER@nic.mil
OrgTechHandle: MIL-HSTMST-ARIN
OrgTechName: Network DoD
OrgTechPhone: +1-800-365-3642
OrgTechEmail: HOSTMASTER@nic.mil
Have you been emailing Osama? lol
Dave H.
- Posted by bently on January 23rd, 2006
Don Varnau wrote:
When in doubt, I always deny.
bently