- Email address problem?
- Posted by SteveT on December 15th, 2007
Not exactly broadband but...
Today I recieved a spam message from some entity with exactly the same
email adress as myself. Should I be worried? What to do?
ColinM
- Posted by Alan on December 15th, 2007
In message <uc67m3d922mkkrqkb4ad6p5mi031bfcpi4@4ax.com>, SteveT
<rumplestiltsk64@yahoo.com> wrote
Just delete it. It is common for spam to appear to have your own email
address as the sender.
--
Alan
news2006 {at} amac {dot} f2s {dot} com
- Posted by Mike Scott on December 15th, 2007
SteveT wrote:
No.
Nothing. Except maybe reconsider your spam filtering.
--
Mike Scott (unet <at> scottsonline.org.uk)
Harlow Essex England
- Posted by SteveT on December 15th, 2007
does the spam filtering, so a message from "joe.bloggs@btinternet.com"
slipped through to me despite the fact I am "Joe.Bloggs".
ColinM
- Posted by Nigel Cliffe on December 15th, 2007
SteveT wrote:
Its not as simple as that I'm afraid.
I have a btinternet.com address. But, I send my email through a different
gateway (choice of three, my ISP Demon and two mail domains I own).
Therefore, its not unknown for me to send email to a mailing list,
originating at Demon, going via Yahoo or Google, and coming back to my
btinterent.com email address. The message will have "from" and "reply to"
fields containing my btinternet address as the sender.
Or I might use a web portal to compose a message.
The above is completely legitimate use. So a simple block on "you didn't
send it via your own ISP" doesn't work.
Reality is that there are probably lots of spam items with your email
address as sender. Some will break through the spam filter. Many will not.
Its been going on for at least a decade.
- Nigel (ex BT and btinternet design/development )
--
Nigel Cliffe,
Webmaster at http://www.2mm.org.uk/
- Posted by Colin Wilson on December 15th, 2007
Don't worry about it - i've put (what may be in parts factually
incorrect) :-} information on phishing / email abuse on my site (i'm
open to offers if anyone fancies correcting anything !)
http://www.coreutilities.co.uk/phishing.html
One minor note - if you use Kaspersky, it might flag the page as
malicious, because I show a html link saying one thing and doing
another by way of example (to a fake site).
- Posted by Mike Scott on December 15th, 2007
Nigel Cliffe wrote:
Unless you're sure you never email yourself, in which case it's a
reasonable enough criterion.
Using the sender's own email addy is one easy way of for a spammer to
make reasonably sure the sender domain exists; some systems check that.
I think the OP said BT, his ISP, does his spam filtering. I sincerely
hope that's configurable (and can be turned off). I'd /never/ want an
ISP to block my mail - flag as suspect before delivery, possibly
helpful; ditch or block, never.
--
Mike Scott (unet <at> scottsonline.org.uk)
Harlow Essex England
- Posted by Nigel Cliffe on December 15th, 2007
Mike Scott wrote:
Both above are reasonable points.
BTinternet's spam filtering can be set to any of these by the customer:
a) turned off completely
b) set to mark items as "spam" in an extra header line, leaving customer to
deal with as they see fit in their POP3 download (for example their own
filters).
c) move spam items to a webmail based "spam/junk" folder, where it will sit
for 1, 2, or 4 weeks (at customer's choice) before auto deletion.
For ages I used (b), though now use (c) which I check for false-marking.
The filter seems good at not junking genuine items, the number of false
cases is very low.
- Nigel (ex BT R&D).
--
Nigel Cliffe,
Webmaster at http://www.2mm.org.uk/
- Posted by Mike Scott on December 16th, 2007
Nigel Cliffe wrote:
....
Sounds good.
--
Mike Scott (unet <at> scottsonline.org.uk)
Harlow Essex England
- Posted by George Weston on December 16th, 2007
"Mike Scott" <usenet.11@spam.stopper.scottsonline.org.uk> wrote in message
news:Pqc9j.16763$1j1.5558@newsfe7-gui.ntli.net...
BT use Yahoo for their mail service and similar facilities are provided by
Yahoo themselves.
George
- Posted by Mike Scott on December 17th, 2007
George Weston wrote:
Yes, I was forgetting that. Swings and roundabouts there: I've found
them very slow to accept mail from my server - frequent 4xx failures for
no obvious reason, sometimes for hours on end.
And yahoo's abuse desk is a laugh - twice I've sent them
incontrovertible evidence of spam from a yahoo server mail server - "we
have investigated.... not from yahoo.... forged headers...". Sorry, but
no way, not when I'm sending them the received-by line added by /my/
server! Had to get that off my chest - anyone else had similar dumb
responses from yahoo/bt?
--
Mike Scott (unet <at> scottsonline.org.uk)
Harlow Essex England
- Posted by Alan P on December 24th, 2007
SteveT pretended :
Have you checked the full header on the email ?
Some spam can display your email address in the 'from' field in an
email client, but the underlying sender will be someone else.
You can always check email on your mailserver before downloading it.
Try :-
www.mail2web.com
this site lets you delete mail remotely.
Alan P
- Posted by Alan on December 24th, 2007
In message <mn.c3f47d7c40cd5c86.60768@invalid.net>, Alan P
<nobody@invalid.net> wrote
Isn't that just an email address and password harvesting site?
--
Alan
news2006 {at} amac {dot} f2s {dot} com
- Posted by SteveT on December 25th, 2007
You hit the nail on the head. There is no "underlying" address. The
post appears to come from me, & I presume that the poster could send
anybody anything & the originator would appear to me. That is exactly
what I found to be disturbing.
But would that help?
ColinM
- Posted by Bob Eager on December 25th, 2007
On Tue, 25 Dec 2007 10:40:55 UTC, SteveT <rumplestiltsk64@yahoo.com>
wrote:
You can look at the Received: headers to get some idea where it came
from (although some may be untrustworthy).
http://tinyurl.com/32qmx8
--
[ 7'ism - a condition by which the sufferer experiences an inability
to give concise answers, express reasoned argument or opinion.
Usually accompanied by silly noises and gestures - incurable, early
euthanasia recommended. ]
- Posted by The Natural Philosopher on December 26th, 2007
SteveT wrote:
Taken you a long time..
Probably mot.
Email forgery is a fact of life.