Tech Support > Computers & Technology > Internet & Broadband > OT .. Attn .. "Smile" Account holders - new email scam !
OT .. Attn .. "Smile" Account holders - new email scam !
Posted by Andy Jenkins on October 5th, 2003


OT - but some of you guys might have an account with Smile.

Like the Barclays email scam a few weeks back, an email seemingly
coming from Smile has been seen.

Do NOT click on any email from emails that appear to come from Smile,
where they ask for your account details.

Having involvement with the recent Barclays case, I have today spoken
with the NCIS - who are aware of this, and are investigating.

Smile have confirmed they are aware of the emails - and are
re-iterating the above information - do NOT click on any links in
emails, where the email is asking for you to verify your account
details.

Most of the above goes without saying to some of you guys - but its
the ones that are still unsure of internet technology that one needs
to worry about.

Thought I would let you know.
--
Andy Jenkins
UK Broadband Usergroup : http://www.uk-bug.net

Posted by PhilG on October 5th, 2003


And Ebay, I have a few saying to click on the link to verify your details
etc. Going to the page it asks you for Social Seciruty Number (useless in
the UK), Credit card number and your ATM PIN no. I have been in contact with
eBay and they say to forward any such emails to:

spoof@ebay.co.uk