Tech Support > Computers & Technology > Internet & Broadband > OT; Domain Names useage
OT; Domain Names useage
Posted by Motion on February 18th, 2007


Just wondering is a UK Individual allowed to use a Personal Domain name for
business use?

I.e. Register the domain for a non-trading individual, but is infact using
it to run a company from?

--
Your village just called. They're missing an idiot.


Posted by Eeyore on February 18th, 2007




Motion wrote:

Me.co.uk ?


If it's used for a company you have to declare the trading address. For personal
use you don't have to disclose your full details.

Graham


Posted by Gordon Hudson on February 18th, 2007



"Eeyore" <rabbitsfriendsandrelations@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:45D815C7.C0114324@hotmail.com...
If it is used for any business purpose then the details have to be made
available.
That includes charities, associations and clubs.
Its only domains used for truly private purposes that can opt out of the
whois.

..me.uk can not be used by a business at all.


--


Gordon Hudson || Hostroute.com Ltd
e-mail:ghudson [at] hostroute.net
http://www.hostroute.co.uk/resellers Host 5 web sites for £9 per month
http://www.nameroute.co.uk/ Domain Names with free hosting and email
http://www.myqth.co.uk/ 3000MB of web space for £29 per year



Posted by David G. Bell on February 18th, 2007


On Sunday, in article <45D815C7.C0114324@hotmail.com>
rabbitsfriendsandrelations@hotmail.com "Eeyore" wrote:

It can also look very suspicious if a whois search returns no real-world
address data, or if it uses some sort of postbox. There can be dozens of
unscrupulously legal companies running out of a barbershop back-room in
Nevada.

When I was a farmer I was in a grey area with my Demon account. I had a
contact email address for the farm, but it was never a charge on the
farm accounts, nor was there a web page.

And the taxman might take an interest.


--
David G. Bell -- SF Fan, Filker, and Punslinger.

On the horizon, a carrier task force of the Salvation Navy was
turning into the wind, preparing to launch Zeppelins.

Posted by Motion on February 19th, 2007


"Gordon Hudson" <hostroute@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:45d8231f$0$763$5a6aecb4@news.aaisp.net.uk...
The domin I'm on about is:

Brightstaronline.co.uk
Registrant type: UK Individual

Registrant's address:
The registrant is a non-trading individual who has opted to have their
Address omitted from the WHOIS service.



Posted by Bob Eager on February 19th, 2007


On Mon, 19 Feb 2007 07:29:51 UTC, "Motion"
<throwawayaccount0001@gmail.com> wrote:

They are definitely not allowed to do that - they are clearly trading
from the website.

A complaint to Nominet normally resolves this very quickly. I have 5
minutes spare, so I've done that!

--
The information contained in this post is copyright the
poster, and specifically may not be published in, or used by
http://www.voipinside.net

Posted by Dave N on February 19th, 2007


In message <erbjlr$eug$1@aioe.org>, Motion
<throwawayaccount0001@gmail.com> writes
Nevertheless, if you do some DNS look-ups on that domain you will find
that their website appears to be hosted by secureserver.net in the USA.
The domain advertises a single MX server with the domain name of
<brightstaronline.info> which employs the same IP address as the main
domain A record, the second nameserver and the WWW record.

The latter domain name was registered through Godaddy and were you to
look it up via WHOIS, you would find a registered name and address in
Hull which uses the same 0871 telephone numbers as listed on their
website. I can see no point in repeating the registered details on
Usenet; they can be found very easily by those who need to know.

The WHOIS record states that the latter domain was created on 28 January
2007 and, if it means what I think it means, they have only just started
up in business. If that is true, perhaps they can be "cut a little bit
of slack" while they try to get their business off the ground? They may
have simply made a mistake.

I don't know and I am only speculating, but I am suggesting that a
witch-hunt might be OTT in the absence of all of the facts. I am
certainly not suggesting that you have improper motives, rather that
this being Usenet there is a risk that any Tom, Dick or Harry reading it
who has a loose grip on reality, might go looking for trouble for the
sake of it. In other words, if the current lack of details for the
co.uk registration causes you a problem why not 'phone and ask them, or
email them? It should only cost pence, even at 0871 rates. OTOH if it
just makes you wary of doing business with them, then look elsewhere -
it would be their loss.

Just IMHO.

--
Dave N

N.B. Mail to nospam is rejected. Reply-To does work.

Posted by Bob Eager on February 19th, 2007


On Mon, 19 Feb 2007 07:45:22 UTC, John Naismith <jts@naismith.org.uk>
wrote:

Done already, and it worked. They won't do it for the .org.uk version at
present, because that doesn't 'lead' to a trading site.
--
The information contained in this post is copyright the
poster, and specifically may not be published in, or used by
http://www.voipinside.net

Posted by Motion on February 19th, 2007


"Bob Eager" <rde42@spamcop.net> wrote in message
news:176uZD2KcidF-pn2-pjFlTIhMssuV@rikki.tavi.co.uk...
Let me know what they say.. my email is valid.



Posted by Bob Eager on February 19th, 2007


On Mon, 19 Feb 2007 13:00:50 UTC, "Motion"
<throwawayaccount0001@gmail.com> wrote:

See later reply. They've filled in the WHOIS contact details for the
co.uk one, but left the .org.uk one alone as it's not in use.

--
The information contained in this post is copyright the
poster, and specifically may not be published in, or used by
http://www.voipinside.net

Posted by Motion on February 19th, 2007


"Bob Eager" <rde42@spamcop.net> wrote in message
news:176uZD2KcidF-pn2-RTk17WwRmokR@rikki.tavi.co.uk...
Thanks.



Posted by Tx2 on February 19th, 2007


In article <176uZD2KcidF-pn2-RTk17WwRmokR@rikki.tavi.co.uk>, Bob Eager
of rde42@spamcop.net, felt we'd be interested in the following...



Do they contact the domain holder and inform them they are going to
expose their details to scrutiny?

What if the domain holder says, "no you're not", and pulls the
'business' off the web so they are no longer effectively trading, yet
Nominet have published his/her details in the interim?



--
My reply address is invalid.
Please post replies to the group.
Messages posted via Google Groups are set to 'auto-ignore'
XPS M1710 / 2.16 GHz dual core / 2Gb DDR2 / nVidia GeForce 7950GTX

Posted by Bob Eager on February 19th, 2007


On Mon, 19 Feb 2007 17:28:53 UTC, Tx2
<this.is.an.inv@lid.address.u.know.com> wrote:

No idea. Since they've breached the T&Cs, I suspect, it just happens. If
the business is then pulled off, I guess they will allow details to be
hidden.

I would expect that they only take immediate action in blatant cases
such as this. An 'appearance' of trading probably results in an email
first.

Ah, see here (lifted from Nominet site):

----------------
Is Nominet allowed to publish my address details?
Yes, we have a contract with every domain name holder under the Terms
and Conditions of domain name registration under which we are entitled
to publish the records of your registration.

Can I choose not to have my address details published?
Yes. we appreciate that some individuals are concerned about having
their personal address published on the WHOIS and therefore allow
individuals the opportunity to opt-out of having their address details
displayed.

How can I opt out?
If you are a non-trading individual, you will be able to opt-out of the
WHOIS by speaking to your registration agent who in turn will modify the
domain name record held by us on your behalf so that your address
details are not displayed.

Can anyone opt out?
Only domain name holders that are non-trading individuals can opt-out of
having their address details published. In other words, if you do not
use or plan to use your domain name for business, trade or professional
transactions you will be entitled to opt-out of having your address
displayed.
------------
--
The information contained in this post is copyright the
poster, and specifically may not be published in, or used by
http://www.voipinside.net

Posted by Tx2 on February 19th, 2007


In article <d5pjt215enigrucr9ia5v3u48iptu4fmcf@4ax.com>, John Naismith
of jts@naismith.org.uk, felt we'd be interested in the following...


Yeah, and... ?

--
My reply address is invalid.
Please post replies to the group.
Messages posted via Google Groups are set to 'auto-ignore'
XPS M1710 / 2.16 GHz dual core / 2Gb DDR2 / nVidia GeForce 7950GTX


Similar Posts