- Possible Hoax message
- Posted by Sergio N on February 22nd, 2004
Is this web address http://windows-patch.info/ a Microsoft
web site ?
- Posted by Carey Frisch [MVP] on February 22nd, 2004
No. You should only download Critical Updates that appear
on the Microsoft Windows Update website:
Windows Update
http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/
--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Be Smart! Protect your PC!
http://www.microsoft.com/security/protect/
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Sergio N" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message:
news:149b901c3f969$275ca090$a401280a@phx.gbl...
| Is this web address http://windows-patch.info/ a Microsoft
| web site ?
- Posted by Chris Barber on February 22nd, 2004
WHOIS:
Domain ID
5661674-LRMS
Domain Name:WINDOWS-PATCH.INFO
Created On:05-Feb-2004 16:19:31 UTC
Expiration Date:05-Feb-2005 16:19:31 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:R161-LRMS
Status:ACTIVE
Status:OK
Registrant ID:C4275779-LRMS
Registrant Name:Michael Burnham
Registrant Organization:Windows-Patch.info
Registrant Street1:Po Box 5043
Registrant City:Thibodaux
Registrant Postal Code:70302
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+198.54478063
Registrant Email:michael_burnham2004@yahoo.co.uk
Admin ID:C4275778-LRMS
Admin Name:Michael Burnham
Admin Organization:Windows-Patch.info
Admin Street1:Po Box 5043
Admin City:Thibodaux
Admin Postal Code:70302
Admin Country:US
Admin Phone:+198.54478063
Admin Email:michael_burnham2004@yahoo.co.uk
Billing ID:C4275778-LRMS
Billing Name:Michael Burnham
Billing Organization:Windows-Patch.info
Billing Street1:Po Box 5043
Billing City:Thibodaux
Billing Postal Code:70302
Billing Country:US
Billing Phone:+198.54478063
Billing Email:michael_burnham2004@yahoo.co.uk
Tech ID:C4275778-LRMS
Tech Name:Michael Burnham
Tech Organization:Windows-Patch.info
Tech Street1:Po Box 5043
Tech City:Thibodaux
Tech Postal Code:70302
Tech Country:US
Tech Phone:+198.54478063
Tech Email:michael_burnham2004@yahoo.co.uk
Name Server:B.NS.JOKER.COM
Name Server:C.NS.JOKER.COM
Name Server:A.NS.JOKER.COM
NSLOOKUP:
Non-authoritative answer:
windows-patch.info internet address = 66.111.66.236
windows-patch.info nameserver = b.ns.joker.com
windows-patch.info nameserver = a.ns.joker.com
windows-patch.info nameserver = c.ns.joker.com
windows-patch.info
primary name server = a.ns.joker.com
responsible mail addr = hostmaster.joker.com
serial = 2004020570
refresh = 86400 (1 day)
retry = 7200 (2 hours)
expire = 1209600 (14 days)
default TTL = 86400 (1 day)
b.ns.joker.com internet address = 194.245.101.19
c.ns.joker.com internet address = 194.245.50.1
I sincerely doubt it given that the registrant has a yahoo email address!
Chris.
"Sergio N" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:149b901c3f969$275ca090$a401280a@phx.gbl...
Is this web address http://windows-patch.info/ a Microsoft
web site ?
- Posted by George Hester on February 23rd, 2004
Most Microsoft sites especially those that are going to provide a security update use microsoft.com as the domain. If you get a message that a update is available at some domain that is NOT microsoft.com then the cautious individual stays away from it. One last thing. These xxxxxx.info sites are all bogus and were made especially for malicous people (IMHO anyway).
--
George Hester
__________________________________
"Sergio N" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:149b901c3f969$275ca090$a401280a@phx.gbl...