Tech Support > Computer Hardware > Printers > Buydig / Beech Camera
Buydig / Beech Camera
Posted by _R on April 20th, 2005


I'm told that Buydig is a branch of Beech Camera. Are these reputable
vendors for printers and cameras? They have good prices on the HP
1320 that I was considering. Any reason to avoid them?

Thanks

Posted by Ozgur Inal on April 20th, 2005


Buydig is pretty good. I purchased 3 cameras from them, never had a problem.
The only thing was, after my last order (I was buying it for a friend who
did not have a credit card) an agent called me from buydig and asked "what I
was going to do with all those cameras" (That was my 3rd order in 6 months)
even though it's none of his business. He was like interrogating me and I
hated it.



"_R" <_R@nomail.org> wrote in message
news:26id6199e9mdqbbfap26o93p7tb6s7vgeq@4ax.com...


Posted by Frank ess on April 21st, 2005


Ozgur Inal wrote:
He was probably worried that his prices were too low, and you were
selling them and making money that should have been _his_.



Posted by Steve Gavette on April 21st, 2005



"_R" <_R@nomail.org> wrote in message
news:26id6199e9mdqbbfap26o93p7tb6s7vgeq@4ax.com...
problems.



Posted by Tony on April 21st, 2005


Beech has a long history of screwing the public. I don't know about their
web operation. I never deal with people I don't trust.

--
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com
home of The Camera-ist's Manifesto
The Improved Links Pages are at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/links/mlinks00.html
A sample chapter from "Haight-Ashbury" is at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/writ/hait/hatitl.html

"_R" <_R@nomail.org> wrote in message
news:26id6199e9mdqbbfap26o93p7tb6s7vgeq@4ax.com...


Posted by Steve Young on April 21st, 2005


"Tony" <tspadaro@nc.rr.com> wrote

When did you ever buy from them?
I bought a camera from them and everything went fine.



Posted by Oliver Costich on April 21st, 2005


On Wed, 20 Apr 2005 16:52:22 -0500, John A. Stovall
<johnastovall@earthlink.net> wrote:


Buydig is at the top of the second tier, B&H and comparable being in
the first.


Posted by braine_dead@lycos.com on April 21st, 2005


I bought from Buydig (Panasonic PV-GS120) no problems.
Emailing a question to them about delivery...it was from Beech Camera!

b_d

Posted by Siddhartha Jain on April 21st, 2005


_R wrote:
I bought from Beachcamera in Nov'04. Good price and was shipped the
very next day. My cousin who went to the store said that they have
boxes and boxes piled up on the floor and were only interested in
showing you a camera if you bought one first.

- Siddhartha


Posted by Siddhartha Jain on April 21st, 2005


braine_d...@lycos.com wrote:

Isn't that Beachcamera?


Posted by FredFarkle on April 21st, 2005


On Wed, 20 Apr 2005 16:52:22 -0500, John A. Stovall
<johnastovall@earthlink.net> wrote:

I bought my Kodak DX 7490 from Buydig. Great price too. No complaints
at all.
Want to Fix Something?

http://www.manuals4you.com


Posted by Destin_FL on April 21st, 2005


Beach has no such history... I have purchased from Beach and BuyDig, both with
perfect results.

Tim




"Tony" <tspadaro@nc.rr.com> wrote in message
news:SJD9e.91988$9v2.2154400@twister.southeast.rr. com...
Beech has a long history of screwing the public. I don't know about their
web operation. I never deal with people I don't trust.



Posted by Tony on April 21st, 2005


Mater of fact it is. They were Beach Camera of Maine until they ran afoul of
the State's Attorney General for nasty practices, so they moved to Brooklyn
and/or New Jersey where the mob keeps the law off slimy operators like them.

--
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com
home of The Camera-ist's Manifesto
The Improved Links Pages are at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/links/mlinks00.html
A sample chapter from "Haight-Ashbury" is at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/writ/hait/hatitl.html

"Siddhartha Jain" <losttoy@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:1114086024.328403.242030@l41g2000cwc.googlegr oups.com...


Posted by Siddhartha Jain on April 22nd, 2005


Tony wrote:
I read somewhere that they revamped totally after that. But as my
cousin told me its not a shop where salespeople are waiting to serve
you. You walk-in, pay and then they let you open the box. So no
question of trying out cameras before buying.

- Siddhartha


Posted by Nostrobino on April 22nd, 2005



"_R" <_R@nomail.org> wrote in message
news:26id6199e9mdqbbfap26o93p7tb6s7vgeq@4ax.com...
I have bought three digital cameras from Buydig.com and they are absolutely
first-rate to deal with. Very fast shipping and no annoying "confirmation"
calls such as some low-priced sellers use to try to sell you overpriced
accessories.

If you mean BEACH Camera, I doubt there's any connection with Buydig but I
don't really know. I have never dealt with Beach and probably never will,
since they have not enjoyed a very favorable reputation among buyers.

N.



Posted by Joe Makowiec on April 22nd, 2005


On 22 Apr 2005 in rec.photo.digital, Nostrobino wrote:

Registrant:
beach trading co. (BUYDIG-DOM)
203 route 22 east
greenbrook, NJ 08812
US

Domain Name: BUYDIG.COM

Administrative Contact:
mosseri, solomon (SM16276)
Beach Trading co.
203 route 22 east
greenbrook, NJ 08812
US
(732) 424-1101 fax: (732) 424-1105

--
Joe Makowiec
http://makowiec.org/
Email: http://makowiec.org/contact/?Joe

Posted by Tony on April 22nd, 2005


I certainly wouldn't buy from them. When a place has no "Goodwill" there is
no reason to shop there.

--
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com
home of The Camera-ist's Manifesto
The Improved Links Pages are at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/links/mlinks00.html
A sample chapter from "Haight-Ashbury" is at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/writ/hait/hatitl.html

"Siddhartha Jain" <losttoy@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:1114159413.783484.256890@f14g2000cwb.googlegr oups.com...


Posted by Oliver Costich on April 23rd, 2005


On Fri, 22 Apr 2005 21:19:33 GMT, "Tony" <tspadaro@nc.rr.com> wrote:


Unless you know exactly what you want and the price is substantially
lower.

Posted by Robert Feinman on April 24th, 2005


In article <2pik611rhj3bq9foapajra0v5hhej0cvdp@4ax.com>, olc-
caNOSPAM@comcast.net says...
they promised.
The market is competitive enough that there is usually a reason that
a dealer is cheaper than the honest competitors.

--
Robert D Feinman
Landscapes, Cityscapes and Panoramic Photographs
http://robertdfeinman.com
mail: robertdfeinman@netscape.net

Posted by Nostrobino on April 24th, 2005



"Robert Feinman" <robertdfeinman@netscape.net> wrote in message
news:MPG.1cd5665154e47fc5989900@news.acedsl.com...
Maybe, but my own experience with BuyDig (three cameras so far) has been
100% satisfaction. The cameras came exactly as advertised, brand new, USA
warranty, and shipped as fast as any dealer I have ever used. And I've
bought tons of stuff online.


If that "than the honest competitors" is meant to suggest that honesty
increases with selling price, and low prices imply some degree of
dishonesty, that is just silly.

Undoubtedly there's a *reason* for lower prices. I can buy exactly the same
watch, appliance or DVD cheaper from K-Mart than I can from some other store
.. . . and cheaper still from Wal-Mart, and so on. For digital cameras my
experience is that the best prices are invariably found over the Internet.
In every case there must be some *reason*, e.g. economies from larger sales
volume, special purchases, more efficient business methods, lower business
costs or just more aggressive pricing. I don't really care what the *reason*
is as long as I can get exactly the same product at a substantially lower
price. It pays to shop around, which why we shop around.

N.




Similar Posts